Double dribble

From Infogalactic: the planetary knowledge core
Jump to: navigation, search
For other uses, see Double dribble (disambiguation).

In basketball, an Illegal dribble (incorrectly identified in common wording as a double dribble) occurs when a player dribbles with two hands simultaneously. A double dribble can also occur when a player picks up the ball with two hands then dribbles it again with one hand.

Official NBA rules

In the National Basketball Association, a dribble is movement of the ball, caused by a player in control, who throws or touches the ball into the air or to the floor.[1]

The dribble ends when the player:[2]

  1. Touches the ball simultaneously with both hands
  2. Permits the ball to come to rest while the player is in control of it
  3. Touches the ball more than once while dribbling, before it touches the floor.

Penalty

Under NCAA and NFHS rules, if an illegal dribble violation occurs, then the ball is awarded to the opposing team out of bounds nearest the point where the violation took place.[3] Under NBA rules, the ball is awarded to the opposing team at the nearest spot, but no closer to the endline than the free throw line extended.[4]

See also

References

  1. NBA Official Rules (2009-2010) Rule 4, Section II, A. Retrieved July 26, 2010
  2. NBA Official Rules (2009-2010) Rule 4, Section II, a. Retrieved July 26, 2010
  3. 2009-2011 Men's & Women's Basketball Rules Rule 9, Section 15, Article 1. Retrieved July 26, 2010
  4. NBA Official Rules (2009-2010) Rule 10, Section II, e, Penalties