New York State government holidays

From Infogalactic: the planetary knowledge core
Jump to: navigation, search

There are twelve observed New York State holidays for state employees. Under the Attendance Rules, a holiday that falls on a Sunday is observed on the following Monday. Lincoln's Birthday and Election Day are deemed floating holidays and can optionally be observed on a later date. A holiday is observed by employees scheduled to work that day; it is not available as a regular or floating holiday for other employees.

New York State holiday name 2018 2019 2020
New Year's Day Monday, January 1 Tuesday, January 1 Wednesday, January 1
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday, January 15 Monday, January 21 Monday, January 20
Lincoln's Birthday Monday, February 12 (float) Tuesday, February 12 (float) Wednesday, February 12 (float)
Washington's Birthday (Observed) Monday, February 19 Monday, February 18 Monday, February 17
Memorial Day Monday, May 28 Monday, May 27 Monday, May 25
Independence Day Wednesday, July 4 Thursday, July 4 Saturday, July 4
Labor Day Monday, September 3 Monday, September 2 Monday, September 7
Columbus Day Monday, October 8 Monday, October 14 Monday, October 12
Election Day Tuesday, November 6 (float) Tuesday, November 5 (float) Tuesday, November 3 (float)
Veterans' Day Monday, November 12 (observed) Monday, November 11 Wednesday, November 11
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 22 Thursday, November 28 Thursday, November 26
Christmas Day Tuesday, December 25 Wednesday, December 25 Friday, December 25

Additional New York City Holidays

In addition to the official New York state holidays, New York City schools also receive the following holidays:[1] The reasoning behind the additional holidays is said to be to recognize the cultural diversity of the city where "... homes where over 185 languages are spoken and more than 42 percent of the students come from homes where English is not the primary language."[2]

References

  1. "NYC Public Schools Kids New Holidays".<templatestyles src="Module:Citation/CS1/styles.css"></templatestyles>
  2. "NYC Schools to Get Islamic, Lunar Holidays Off".<templatestyles src="Module:Citation/CS1/styles.css"></templatestyles>